🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Job Success Score - Inactive Client Issue
Page options
jonrdunnington
Community Member

Job Success Score - Inactive Client Issue

Hi all, I did take a quick look to see if this issue has been discussed already but nothing seemed to pop up from very recently.

So over the holidays, my JSS dropped from 92% (maybe 94%) to 88% which now puts me below the 90% threshold to secure the better projects. I have been a very active freelancer on Upwork for the last 9-12 months and began to rely on this as my sole income stream.

After talking with Upwork Live Help, it appears that JSS has been pretty badly affected by so many closed contracts with no feedback. It turns out this is from a single period of around a week where I finally ended a bunch of contracts that had been dormant for months and the clients unresponsive. 

I would argue, that if Upwork was to look at the contract/client and discover that the clients have not actively logged in to their account since the contract, then part of this blame has to fall on Upwork for their inability to retain a paying client surely? Why is the responsibility entirely on the freelancer for someone deciding they don't want to use Upwork anymore?

I am now left with the daunting thought, that no matter what I do over the coming months, I cannot change the lack of feedback as the clients are not even responding to Upwork reaching out to them which makes me wonder whether to even bother continuing to use the platform if I have an uphill battle trying to get back over 90%?

To put this into perspective, my JSS score dropped to 88% on Jan 5th, during the 2 weeks after, I closed 3 contracts with 5 star feedback. Come Jan 19th, my JSS score STILL remains at 88%, how on earth do I rectify an issue pulling my score down so much when I nor Upwork can contact the past clients?

5 REPLIES 5
robin_hyman
Community Member