🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Job Success Score disaster
Page options
placebofx
Community Member

Job Success Score disaster

I'm new to Upwork but have some experience as a freelance writer. I have only 3 completed jobs, 2 with 5 stars and 1 with 4.8 feedback. I made a few minor mistakes in the 4.8 job but it was corrected and the client said he was pleased with the final product. There was another job where I stupidly accepted the offer before being completely aware of what was involved and then immediately backed out when I realized I couldn't handle the job. Apologized to client and contract was ended by client and I refunded escrow monies. 

I thought it took more than 3 jobs to get a JSS but my JSS has just now appeared. It is 38%. I'm devastated. This seems so harsh. I've lost my confidence, motivation, and direction and need some advice.

I'm assuming this score must reflect some combination of poor private feedback and/or the aborted contract?. Is that correct?

Before I had this JSS I was doing well for a beginner and had a very high rate of proposals sent to interviews or job offers. Now I can't imagine anyone will want to hire me for anything. Is it even possible to come back from this? Or should I admit failure and give up on freelancing through Upwork? 
4 REPLIES 4
petra_r
Community Member

Annie T wrote:

Before I had this JSS I was doing well for a beginner and had a very high rate of proposals sent to interviews or job offers. Now I can't imagine anyone will want to hire me for anything. Is it even possible to come back from this?

No clients can see your JSS at the moment as any JSS under 50% does not show on your profile.

Because you have so few contracts, each one counts heavily, so it won't take that many great outcomes to get to increase your JSS again.

Be very selective when choosing who you work with, take on contracts you totally know you can do 100%.