cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Job Success Score should be transparent

Highlighted
Katie C Member Since: Sep 21, 2015
1 of 25

I just want to state that I feel the job success score should be transparent.  This secrecy is frustrating and helps no one!!!

As a former teacher, my evaluator would come into my classroom and when he/she would give me less than a 100% mark, he/she would give me an explanation for it, so I could grow and get better! How are we suppose to grow and get better at our craft if we have no idea why we have 90% instead of a 100%?

A client gives me a 5 star rating, that same client publicly says he would recommend me to others, and he emailed me to say how impressed he was with my work, but then my job success score drops.  So what happened?  This client publically gave me great reviews, but in private expressed a concern about my work?  Shouldn't I be the one to know if my client is concerned?  (According to the upwork support member who addressed my question concerning my job success score, the client left less than positive private feedback: "Yourclient provided you 5 star overall public rating however, job success represents your job performance that includes the private feedback of client. You will see on your profile you have a perfect 5 star rating, but privately client shares concern which is included on the computation of job success score and reflected on your score.")  Um, ok, so the client lied to me?  He shares a concern about my work with Upwork, but not with me? 

Allowing us to see the private feedback does not take away from the honesty of the job success score.  The client can still express a concern, the client can still give lower marks, but now, we freelancers would at least know why. 

And what's the deal with clients lying?  If a client gives 5 stars and glowing reviews publicly then gives poor reviews privately, then doesn't that mean he is lying to me about my success?