🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Job flippers
Page options
jeremiah-brown
Community Member

Job flippers

What is Upwork's official policy on this practice?

As a freelancer, I expect a job posting to be posted by the actual client.  Seasoned freelancers are all too aware of job postings consisting of scammers and job flippers.  I have been aware that job flipping is occurring, I just didn't have the terminology to pair with the practice (now I do, thanks to another freelancer).

Would also like to hear opinions from others - what do you think about the job flippers on the site? 

1. Do you think clients get the best possible work from freelancers when they are unknowingly playing telephone?

2. Do you think it is ethical?

3. What about jobs where professional standards and very specific details are involved (engineering, law, etc)?

4. How much revenue do you suspect Upwork loses to job flippers?

5. How do you think this impacts clients and freelancers desire to post or perform more work in the future?

***Edit: To clarify #4 - yes, Upwork would receive more for a single job.  I should have specified that I am thinking about loss of revenue in terms of potential or follow-up work.  This is the work lost due to mistakes created and caused by someone relaying the scope of work between the client(s) and freelancer(s).  Especially in areas where the *broker/middleman* has no knowledge of what to ask, technical processes, professional standards, etc. 

For example, a business owner posts a job, middleman flips it to a freelancer, freelancer performs work and submits through middleman back to business owner, job is closed, business owner submits documents to city planner and discovers the $3000 he/she spent on the freelance engineer was all wasted because the professional stamp is missing from the blueprints.