🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Job offer without bidding?
Page options
iti_j
Community Member

Job offer without bidding?

Hi everyone,

I just got a private offer for an hourly project. I've never worked with this client before and didn't bid for this project. I'm worried it might be a scam.

Is there a way I can see more details about the client or the project?

I've searched for the client's name, their company name, and the job title, but I can't find a public post for this project. I can't see the client's rating or reviews either.

Has anyone else had this experience?

Iti

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dsmgdesign
Community Member

Iti

Yes, I have had this experience with a small handful of clients. For me, these have been clients who knew exactly what they want, have a very particular skill set in mind, and don't have the time or patience to post a job blindly only to get a ton of unqualified applicants to weed through. Instead, they prefer to take control of their projects by sending their projects directly to candidates they feel is qualified for their job. With exception of maybe one of these clients, most of them have been great...decisive, close out their projects promptly after the work is finished, and leave great feedback. 

But, before you accept, you are now in the driver's seat. You can reach out and "interview" them, so to speak. They decided on you, but you now need to decide on them. 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
sjbercot
Community Member

If you've received an offer, you should be able to view a related job post. They can't make you an Upwork offer without a job post.