🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Upwork doesn't care about freelancers
Page options
hashmizaid
Community Member

Jobless for 3 months on Upwork

Hi folks! I'm a top-rated freelancer with about 15K+ earnings and a 100% JSS. I had a long-term project with an old client, which went inactive in July-August. Now, I'm jobless for the last 3 months. I didn't get a single legit invitation even though I rank in the top 60 without filters and in the top 20 with filters in my category. I have spent more than 100 connects applying to extremely relevant jobs, I follow the art of applying to jobs - no templates, keeping it short, focusing on clients problems, providing solutions and value, call to action. I have read almost all articles on how to become a successful freelancer, started listening to the #workunlocked podcast, re-watched tutorial videos on Upwork and YouTube, built a perfect and curated profile, launched Project Catalogs. I don't understand what's going on! I didn't join a full-time position at MNCs or Design Agency because I am passionate about freelancing. I feel Upwork cannot even serve top-rated freelancers and it seems like a mere luck or temporary algorithm that helped me get this far. Does Upwork even care about the freelance community, or is it just about the client's needs & money? I trusted this platform with my heart, but I don't think Upwork will even take my case into account and that's why I sometimes think about switching to Fiverr or Toptal. They might value my potential and skills. Can you help me out? EDIT: Genuine advice only, no mockery! 🤞

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
alexandrak83
Community Member

Have you tried tweaking your profile? I had a look at it and would recommend you selecting ONE niche where you are good at (websites, presentations, pitch decks...), one-two industries, and reworking your profile to be something along these lines:

"I help blockchain startups stand out from the with simple, clean website designs that get results"