🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Just encountered 2 scam
Page options
788bfdf6
Community Member

Just encountered 2 scam

Just a forewarning to my fellow newcomer freelancers. I'm new to the platform and saw these 2 proposals named "simple data entry". As I was new to the platform, it looked interesting and did bidding. Soon enough they come in through Upwork dm and send me their telegram link. At this point, I knew it was getting a little sus, as chatting outside is a violation of Upwork policy. So both of them introduced themselves and their fake company. One used "MarineOne" and the other one used "Sharethrough" and kept on explaining what their companies do. Both of them asked for my CV. I sent them to see how it goes.

788bfdf6_0-1657216319541.png

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

And after that, they sent me this video on Yandex. It was the same video from 2 different supposed people. The first one sent me a random pdf that said 1000$ per project whatever and asked me to pay a refundable 50$. The other one send me 200 screenshots and said 15$ per image to write it in Word. So funny lol.  The drive folder in which the image was had an owner of the name "sharethrough company", it was supposed to marineone company lol.

788bfdf6_2-1657216562295.png
tl, dr: my fellow newcomers, please be aware of such scammers. Their way of scamming you is just getting better and better. If it sounds too good, it probably is a scam.

keyword(for google search): marineone, sharethrough, 200 images

Those companies are probably legit but scammers are using their name.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
renata101
Community Member

Hey Bilguudei,

I'm glad you were able to navigate those so easily and stay out of trouble! I'm sorry to say that you'll encounter a ton of scams with data entry jobs. There are probably more scams in that area than there are actual jobs. In general, you should try to avoid job posts that include Whatsapp, Telegram, and other external contact information.