🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Keep adding milestones or create a new contra...
Page options
elizabethjahns
Community Member

Keep adding milestones or create a new contract?

I'm extremely new to Upwork, so thank you for your patience with me and for your help! I began a contract with a client that was for 1 blog post for $15. After I submitted it, he said he was pleased with the work and that he would have more coming for me. He messaged a couple of days later and asked if I could take another blog post for another one of his own clients for another $15. I said yes, so he added that as a milestone to the still open contract. I submitted that, and then he messaged me a few days later asking if I could take two more posts for a different one of his clients for $15 each. He added those as milestones to the still open contract, as well.

My question is: is this normal? I have my account set so that I get paid monthly, but will these project payments count toward my monthly withdrawal if the contract is still open? Should I ask him to open and close a new contract every time, since they are technically different projects? (A screenshot of the contract is attached.)

I hope that all made sense. Thank you again for your help!

9 REPLIES 9
prestonhunter
Community Member

Add new milestones to an existing contract?

Create new contracts for each task?

Both are "normal" and acceptable.

Both cost the client the exact same amount of money.

There are many advantages to me, as a freelancer, to creating new contracts.

I build up more of a work history, and I get positive feedback. And I avoid accumulating all my earnings in one big contract that could go south at the end...

So personally I tend to use single-milestone contracts, even with a project that has many separate milestones. But ultimately it is up to you.