bgranat

Lacks desired skills or qualifications

How is it possible for a person to say "Lacks desired skills or qualifications" when I have 30 years of experience and submitted a list of books I've edited?

I am stunned.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
quijibo

You lacked the most important qualification that 99% of the clients are looking for here: willing to work for 2 bucks an hour. 

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
quijibo

You lacked the most important qualification that 99% of the clients are looking for here: willing to work for 2 bucks an hour. 

I never mentioned money at all. 

tlsanders

@Bonnie G wrote:

How is it possible for a person to say "Lacks desired skills or qualifications" when I have 30 years of experience and submitted a list of books I've edited?

I am stunned.

Well, first, a person can say anything--it doesn't have to be factually demonstrable.

Many of the handful of clients who bother to check a reason just use the same one for everyone, so it could be completely random. Or a mistake.

Or, the person had some specific qualification like "has worked at least 1,000 hours on Upwork" that you didn't have.

Probably being "stunned" over this is an overreaction and in no way good for your career here. Who cares which radio button a random stranger who posted a job here clicked?

I have no way of knowing that the person didn't type the words. How am I supposed to know it's a radio button that spits out text?

petra_r

@Bonnie G wrote:

I am stunned.

Clients do not always, or even too often, check every single proposal. In fact in many cases the majority of proposals are not even looked at.

In most cases, clients do not decline proposals, they just fade away. Sometimes they decline with one of the multiple choice reasons, of which  "Lacks desired skills or qualifications" is one. The client did not type this out.

Chances are the client chose one freelancer, never even saw your profile, and mass declined everyone else with the same button.