🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Legit Job?
Page options
carolyn_spellman
Community Member

Legit Job?

Hi, I did a job interview over google hangouts, and among the other things that seemed odd, they want to pay me directly by check. I'm new to Upwork, but is this a warning sign?

They gave me a link to a legit website based in San Francisco, but I have some concerns.

They also mentioned that I'm eligible for benefits after eight weeks...as a freelancer? And they wouldn't give me specifics about what I'd be edting.

Has anyone else had an "interview" like this? 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
a_lipsey
Community Member

Carolyn S wrote:

Hi, I did a job interview over google hangouts, and among the other things that seemed odd, they want to pay me directly by check. I'm new to Upwork, but is this a warning sign?

They gave me a link to a legit website based in San Francisco, but I have some concerns.

They also mentioned that I'm eligible for benefits after eight weeks...as a freelancer? And they wouldn't give me specifics about what I'd be edting.

Scam and Upwork TOS violation. If you are paid outside of Upwork, that's a TOS violation. Also, never give your personal information or accept a check from anyone off platform. The check will be fake, and you will be out the money from your account. 

If someone wants to hire you as an employee, Upwork has W2 services. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
a_lipsey
Community Member

Carolyn S wrote:

Scam and Upwork TOS violation. If you are paid outside of Upwork, that's a TOS violation. Also, never give your personal information or accept a check from anyone off platform. The check will be fake, and you will be out the money from your account. 

If someone wants to hire you as an employee, Upwork has W2 services. 

Thanks! This was a good initiation -- I'll ignore offers like this. I appreciate the guidance. 

versailles
Community Member

Here: Getting Started on Upwork 

Once you finish reading everything, read it again.