🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Let me grouse about this for a minute
Page options
alsirois
Community Member

Let me grouse about this for a minute

I have seen way too many posts like this:

"I'm new to this space and can only afford to ay $200," or

"As I said, l am new to this so, I will only be able to pay $150 for this project. 65,000 words."

Or similar. This is getting on my last nerve. Is it just me, or does this aggravate anyone else?

Al

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
bundie702
Community Member

When one client tries something, others often jump on the bandwagon. Just about every ghostwriting job contains the words, "nothing shared with a previous client." It's enough to make you wonder if these are all the same person posting (they're not). The latest trend is telling you how much time they'll give you for completing the job. That will soon be included on 90% of ghostwriting postings. And what makes it worse is that if no one applies to work for that pay/under those conditions (or if no one is qualified), they will repost the job, so it appears over and over again.

As several people on the thread said, just ignore those postings. It's a minor annoyance to see so many of them, but as long as they aren't inviting you to the job, just shrug it off. They wouldn't dare tell the landlord of office space that they're just starting out and can only afford to pay $150 for rent, because they know said landlord will laugh in their face. But some of those jobs actually get applicants. No doubt the clients feel they might be able to get work done cheaply. The work will likely be subpar, but that's their problem, not yours. Consider excluding jobs from your feed that include "starting out" "getting started" or similar phrases...

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
b8b80eb0
Community Member

Hi Allen,

The same happens with me, but I do not work with such clients.
They have much work with the lowest budget.
You are a senior and know it very well.