🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Level of work too high for low pay
Page options
39d166fa
Community Member

Level of work too high for low pay

I am a content writer and this client offered a blog post for $40. I agreed because it seemed easy enough as it is in my field of study. However, the level of detail he wants is compatible with a college thesis. I spent more time providing edits and adding content than I ever did for clients who pay triple the price. Today, he asked for more edits. I edited again for the 10th time, he comes back with more. He's only paying $10 for the final revision. This work is taking away from other higher-paying clients. 

I told him that the level of editing and detail his work requires isn't compatible with the pay. I asked him to add at least an additional $40. 

Is this reasonable to ask? 

15 REPLIES 15
renata101
Community Member

Svetlana L wrote:

I am a content writer and this client offered a blog post for $40. I agreed because it seemed easy enough as it is in my field of study. However, the level of detail he wants is compatible with a college thesis. I spent more time providing edits and adding content than I ever did for clients who pay triple the price. Today, he asked for more edits. I edited again for the 10th time, he comes back with more. He's only paying $10 for the final revision. This work is taking away from other higher-paying clients. 

I told him that the level of editing and detail his work requires isn't compatible with the pay. I asked him to add at least an additional $40. 

Is this reasonable to ask? 

Are you sure it's not a college thesis? 

It's not unreasonable to ask, but it's usually better to state the number of revisions you're open to and what they will cost before the contract starts. 

It's a blog post for their website 

People shouldn't be doing homework on here anyway.  I flag it whenever I see it.  Its unethical.