🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Link auto removed in proposal?
Page options
freshter007
Community Member

Link auto removed in proposal?

Hi, I am new in this platform, registered since January 2021.

Since my first debut, I prepare links to be placed in my proposal to direct my future client to be able to visit my sample work, showreel, portfolio or my youtube channel. At first I use bit.ly since they can track the number of clicks and demographic stats. I use this method to see wheter I need improvement in the quality of my proposal or not by clicking stats.

Just a week ago, everything seems wrong. I can't see any changes. At first, I thougt bit.ly detected as malicious link (maybe) by upwork's system and I decide to change it to rebrandly which have a similar ability as bit.ly.

Even after I change it, still there is no improvement and I can not see any single person click or visit the link  to my youtube channel, even after I spend about 70 connects to apply dozens of job posts.

Just a moment ago, I see a job post and see "(link removed)" and thougt upwork now forbid people to share link(s) in job bidding process but in some case I still can see a job post with link in the job post such as google drive, loom, onedrive, etc.

If upwork limit particular link in job bidding process, I need a clearer information which link allowed and disallowed?

This is quite a problem for freelancers sincewe can not showing our competence outside upwork platform such as youtube channel, portfolio in wix.com / daddy.com, etc.

I highly appriciate if anyone can answer my struggle and really need a feedback regarding this matter.

Best regards,

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AndreaG

Hi Freshman,

You can learn more about what information is ok to share here.

Thanks!

~Andrea
Upwork

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
lysis10
Community Member

I wouldn't use a shortlink. They are risky for people to click. Best to just link directly. It wouldn't surprise me if Upwork removed them.