cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linking from other sites to oDesk profile

Community Guru
Natalia G Member Since: Jun 8, 2008
1 of 22

I have just read this oDesk Blog article. Is this true for all jobs or only design jobs? The article was something along the lines of "tips for a perfect designer profile". I have my website, LinkedIn and other social media accounts pointing to my oDesk profile, but I haven´t noticed anything different and I was just wondering (I am a translator)... Thanks

Link to oDesk profile

Community Guru
Jean S Member Since: Oct 22, 2007
2 of 22
You can't link to other sites where your personal information or business website is located. That would be against the rules. If you have client's websites that display your work that would be acceptable.
Community Guru
3 of 22
I totally disagree with the LinkedIn remark she makes. Maybe a moderator could comment on this.
Community Guru
4 of 22

I am so confused now!

Thanks, hopefully someone can shed some light? As far as I know it´s against the rules. I said it wrong, I linked FROM LinkedIn and other sites to my oDesk profile, this is ok, isn´t it? My oDesk profile has no links in it, other than my portfolio items ans such.

Thanks

Community Guru
5 of 22

Jean, do you mean me or the article?

I misunderstood. I thought they were talking about linking FROM other social media to the oDesk profile. So, of course, even though I have done that, nothing has changed. It´s just extra info for employers and people I network with, in essence my oDesk profile is my portfolio... 

So now the question remains; Are we allowed to link to other social media (I.e Linked in, etc) in our oDesk profile, like the article seems to suggest?

Community Guru
6 of 22
I would say: LinkedIn to Odesk - OK Odesk to LinkedIn - Not OK
Community Guru
7 of 22

Ok, good, That´s what I thought. So this article is a little misleading.... 

We´ll see if anyone else knows...  Thanks Jean!

Community Guru