🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Local bank payment South Africa
Page options
hilaryreynolds
Community Member

Local bank payment South Africa

Hi,

I see that several African countries such as Senegal have access to local bank payments, but not South Africa, Is there any intention to add South Africa to the list of local banks? It certainly has the banking infrastructure for it and would save a great deal of trouble.

Thanks

23 REPLIES 23
lindafoo
Community Member

Hi there, yes I hope so too! In the interim, I’ve found that Payoneer (as opposed to Paypal) works best.
g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Hilary and Lin,

Thank you for your feedback I will share it with our team. Unfortunately at the moment, I don't have any details about this, I will check with our team and once we (Moderators) have more information we will update the thread. 

~ Goran
Upwork

Hi Goran

I am new to Upwork, I chose the wire transfer, I would like to know how much it costs and how long it will take to get my money.  Also which currency do I look at? I look forward to your reply.

Bianca

Hi Bianca,

I checked and it looks like you added a Direct to Local Bank method, not the Wire transfer one. 

When you withdraw funds using the Direct to Local Bank method, the currency conversion will be performed by Upwork's banking partner at the time the funds are sent to you and the money would arrive at your bank in your local currency. The cost per withdrawal direct to your local bank is $0.99 (plus incoming fees at some banks). For more information on the fees and timing, you can check this article.

If you have a USD account with your local bank, you can use the Wire Transfer method to withdraw USD directly to that account. Upwork charges a $30 fee for each U.S. dollar wire transfer. You can check this article to learn more about the fees and timing.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

Hi Aleksandar

That's correct! Thank you for your prompt response! 

Have a great day!