🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Location requirement was not mentioned on...
Page options
prakashrs
Community Member

Location requirement was not mentioned on a Job and I submitted proposal

Hi! I'm a registered freelancer on Upwork. I was going thru a job and I liked all the details mentioned over there that suits my expertise. I carefully looked whether a 'Location requirement' has been mentioned on that job page. I did not see any such requirement there. I submitted my proposal. Today I got a message from hiring manager that "this job will be based in xxx xxx city, USA. Where are you located?"

What am I supposed to do with such incidences? I'm loosing my paid connects in applying jobs like this. I'm sure if this happens for one job it will happen again for more jobs. According to the Upwork Help Center there is a clear instruction about "Location requirement for a job" which says "When you review job posts you’ll be able to quickly scan and see which ones have location requirements."

However I cannot see and find out location requirement for that job. What to do for this?

10 REPLIES 10
andrecabang
Community Member

This is not your mistake, this is a client mistake that he/she did not mention that he/she needs a specific freelancer's location for a specific project. We can't avoid this matter, even upwork already provided all the necessary options.

Can I raise this incidence to Upwork support and get my coonects refunded
that were utilized for applying that job? Does Upwork refund coonects in
such cases?

Hi Prakash,

Thanks for reaching out to us. We return Connects when a client closes their job without hiring or we find a job post has violated our Terms of Service.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

Is 'Location requirement' covered in Terms of Service?

Prakash S wrote:
Is 'Location requirement' covered in Terms of Service?

No.

Prakash S wrote:
Can I raise this incidence to Upwork support

No - well, you "can" - but you'd be wasting your time.