🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Long term contract with mileposts?
Page options
donnamcfarland
Community Member

Long term contract with mileposts?

I am a new freelancer and I am talking with a client about a project that would be 1-2 years in length. We want to do it as a fixed rate instead of hourly -- basically a set rate per page, and there will be 500+ pages. How should we structure the contract? It seems crazy to do 500+ milestones, or even 50 if we did a milestone for every 10 pages. Any suggestions?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
m_sharman
Community Member

You don't have to set up all the milestones right now, in fact I would recommend against it.

Just look at the work deliverables for the next month and set up milestones for that time period. You also need to see what ratio of fee/work product feels right. I wouldn't commit to a fixed milestone rate until you deliver some work.

The client can add milestones as needed, or you can propose them.

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23
prestonhunter
Community Member

If I am a freelancer... I certainly have no interest in getting paid once every six months.

Or once a month.

If I'm doing an hourly contract, I get paid EVERY WEEK.

So if I am going to agree to a fixed-price contract, I want to get paid at least that frequently.

I have no problem if there are 50 milestones. Or 500 milestones. The client isn't paying a separate fee for each milestone.

If the client does not want to use an hourly contract, then I will tell the client what milestones to set.

It is NOT crazy to get paid regularly for the work that I do. It is potentially dangerous to me to do a lot of work without getting paid.

m_sharman
Community Member

You don't have to set up all the milestones right now, in fact I would recommend against it.