Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for Partner/Mentor

hanson-brian
Brian H Member Since: Sep 28, 2015
1 of 21

Hi,

I've been casually programming for about a year now and want to start doing freelance projects. The only jobs I know how to do completely(and with confidence) are webscraping and task automation, which have a lot of competition because it is pretty easy. I know how to do parts of what others are asking, but I can't commit to doing all of it.

Would anyone want to work with me and help me grow as a programmer? My days are free and I'm willing to learn new libraries.

Thank you,

Brian

screeler
Community Guru
Mariska P Member Since: Apr 27, 2015
2 of 21

Hi Brian, 

Looks like your profile (to me, and I'm no expert) looks more like you want to hire someone to teach you your profession. 

Also, with a Magna **bleep** Laude GPA:3.7,  a rate of $7 an hour is what you think you're worth? You do live in the States right? 

I hope you find someone that will partner with you! 🙂 

hanson-brian
3 of 21

lol. I'm just trying to get programming experience right now, and it's hard to land a first job. The $7 is just to make something instead of nothing, but it does seem sort of ridiculous.

And I understand what you're saying. But I'm moreso trying to get guidance for what libraries or data structures are appropriate for the project at hand.

screeler
Community Guru
4 of 21

I'm not sure how you're going to work this,  but you'll get some solid advice from someone.

But still. 10? Well, it's better than 7. 🙂 

screeler
Community Guru
5 of 21

Sorry Brian, have to say this. Not trying to divert but this is just s***id. 

Magna *um Laude has been reduced to profanity now on Upwork? Seriously. It's allowed on the profile so what's up here? Sigh. 

computerhxr
Community Guru
Daniel C Member Since: Nov 21, 2010
6 of 21

What are you looking for from a partner/mentor?

hanson-brian
7 of 21

Hi Daniel,