🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Loosing clients when they asked to work outsi...
Page options
fawazchughtai
Community Member

Loosing clients when they asked to work outside UW

Hi community!
I am an average level freelancer. Use to work on single project at a time. Upwork is my permanent working platform. From last couple of months i am facing the issue that after having contracts/projects/milestones done on upwork, client started to ask moving outside upwork for further work and payments. Which i really hate because this way i am loosing them as i refuse. Reason is they dont want to pay their share of UW percentage to UW. My suggestion is to please consider to charge no or less fee to clients if possible. Or let me know any suggestions how to cop up such situations. Like i said for me client is very valuable as mostly i dont have lots of clients
20 REPLIES 20
tlsanders
Community Member

Clients don't have a "share of Upwork percentage." That's the fee that you, as a freelancer, pay to Upwork for its services such as marketing and escrow. There is no reason the client should ever have reason to think about your fees 

I charge Upwork clients the same rate I charge offsite clients. Some freelancers mark up their rates to cover Upwork's fees (something I don't find necessary because working through Upwork saves me time and money). Either way, there is no reason ever to be discussing those fees with the client, and no reason the client should expect that you would charge less if you moved off the site. 

Tiffany thanks for the reply, i think you misunderstood the "share" part. I meant their fee to upwork. Anyways thanks!

Fawaz A wrote:
Tiffany thanks for the reply, i think you misunderstood the "share" part. I meant their fee to upwork. Anyways thanks!