🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Low bids freelancers problem
Page options
fsafner
Community Member

Low bids freelancers problem

Good morning everybody.

My name is Florin Safner. I have been working for many years in this platform, formerly O`Desk, Elance and Upwork after the fusion. I'm really happy to be here because for now I consider it the best freelance place. 

My profile is set for the graphic design and specifically maps and artistic cartography design. Things changed after all the supposed Covid mess and like everywhere canged for a lower demand. So, we must take care and advantage of the work opportunities every time when they are posted. However, I see a problem which is affecting both freelancers and the site itself. I'll explain what's happening.

We live in a free world, at least apperentaly, which give us the posssibility to choose what's the best for each one of us. Each person will decide what's the way to earn more and capture the client's attention. However this must fit with what we could call "the work ethics" rules. What I am doing must not hurt ohter people work chances or odds. We must respect each other and play a fair game. Why am I saying this? Because unfortunately this is not happening.

Sometimes good projects bids are offered at only 10-20% of the posted value. A $200 or $300 post is bidded for $30 or $40. Some people desesperation is so big than will be able to work for almost nothing and receive a tip instead of a decent fee. Why ? Because they have not a solid activity and feedback background, maybe they are new in the site or other reasons. Regrettably a good part of our clients are hunting for the lower, cheaper offers ignoring what means quality. Who's losing? All, us and the site as well. Because of this kind of (sorry for the wording) work prostitution we are losing a good work cance and the site is losing money as well because it's 20% charge is not the same if the job payment is $40 instead of $200.