cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Milestone Question

bryantkarlie
Karlie B Member Since: Aug 29, 2016
1 of 7

I'm new to Upwork and I submitted a proposal for a writing assignment that is very low in pay to gain some experience with the program. However, when I accepted it I didn't realize there were milestones involved. The first contract said nothing about it and only listed the one assignment. After the client accepted the first assignment, I was immediately sent another one that said that I had reached a milestone.  When I go to the contract now it shows milestone 1 and 2 (the two I've completed) but no milestones after that. My question is, how many do I have to do? The writing assignments take a lot longer than expected because I am trying to do the best job possible. I don't want to disappoint the client and cancel the contract, but I also want to be able to put in proposals for jobs that interest me.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

versailles
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
2 of 7

I think that you should stop trying to find work on this site and spend a day to read the help section, to watch the videos and to browse those forums.

Only once you really understand how this site works, and after having clarified all question that could remain by posting in this community, only then should you apply for jobs.

If you don't do that, chances are you will be scammed.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless
datasciencewonk
Community Guru
Kat C Member Since: Jul 11, 2016
3 of 7

Hi, Karlie...

Welcome to Upwork.

There are different ways, from a client's perspective, to set up a contract. 

It's up to you to communicate with the client regarding milestones (if you would like more, or prefer to close the contract). Ideally, clients will be communicative with you (I am as a client), but if they aren't then it's decision time for you.