🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Milestone funded but client unresponsive abou...
Page options
katherine_1
Community Member

Milestone funded but client unresponsive about instructions

Hi everyone,

I've tried searching for this problem on the forum, but I can't find one with exactly the same circumstances. Apologies if it has been asked.

Some background:

I've been working with a client for several months now, writing one blog article per month. Everything has gone well and he has already given me a 5 star rating for previous work. He normally responds and pays promptly.

At the end of May, after a successful May article, he set up the next milestone (due in mid-June) and funded it. When he funded it he said he'd be in touch about the article topic as he needed to think about it. However, he never got back to me about the topic so I couldn't procede despite the milestone being funded.

I have messaged him twice to follow up with no response. I don't want to send more as it could be perceived as badgering.

I got a message from Upwork this week saying if there is no action on this contract in the next 2 weeks it will be automatically closed and I'll be sent a refund request (and my client has been notified by them too). I totally understand that and I'm fine with it. It's a small job and I'm not really bothered (plus I'm a bit miffed he isn't replying to me).

My question is, should I wait for Upwork to close the account? Or should I just issue a refund to the client now and leave it up to the client to either close the contract eventually or set up another milestone should he return in the future? Basically, which action would be better or worse for my success score -- it's 100% right now and (at the risk of sounding precious lol) I'm keen to keep it as high as possible.

I don't really want Upwork to close the contract for the client and then risk having "no feedback" left on my profile.

Thanks in advance!
6 REPLIES 6
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member