🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Monthly retainers
Page options
9fc99a3a
Community Member

Monthly retainers

Hey all, I have an important question.

Would it be possible for Upwork to offer Freelancers the ability to create their own monthly retainers? For example, as a social media manager, it's not in my best interest to be paid hourly. It would be best if I charged monthly for my services. Ideally, Upwork would supply the freelancer with the ability to set multiple retainers. I'll share an example.

If I'm a social media manager who provides their clients with:

Content creation

Scheduling

Copywriting

Branding

Analytics

Organic Growth

Posting 5x a week on 3 social media accounts, it would be best to set a monthly service for $450~

If a client has a tight budget, they would settle for a different monthly retainer offering all of the above services, but only for 3x a week for $300~

Is this possible? Or, my fellow freelancers, would this be possible for Upwork to work on in the future? Would I be able to contact anyone about it? I thought it was an interesting idea that might make things easier for the client & freelancer. What are your thoughts?

- Sarah 🙂

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

Sarah H wrote:

Would it be possible for Upwork to offer Freelancers the ability to create their own monthly retainers

A WEEKLY retainer is already possible, as is a weekly salary (the difference is that the salary is in addition to any hours logged, whereas the retainer is standalone.

9fc99a3a
Community Member

I've seen that! It's definitely a step in the right direction. I think I left out that ideally I could have my monthly/weekly retainer rate advertised on my profile, rather than my hourly rate.
bd8313e6
Community Member

That page is broken. Where could I set that up on freelancer profile? Also, nowhere on the project options can I see a "monthly" or "weekly" option. Everything is fixed price. Do I just put Monthly in the Project title then?

Hi Ben,