cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: More than One Talent?

morganalyx
Alyx M Member Since: Dec 29, 2016
1 of 8

I am multi-talented, & would like to be able to get work in all of those different categories.  I've got 20+ years of admin experience, while also being a professional photographer, a voice-over artist & am just starting out in the editing business (audio & video).  How can I make it so that I can apply for different jobs in each of those categories, without the hiring managers wondering why an Admin is applying for a video editing job?

mtngigi
Community Guru
Virginia F Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
2 of 8

Most of us will recommend that it's best in the beginning to focus on one or two skills instead of being all over the place. You want your profile to be focused. Once you're established with a history of jobs and good feedback, then you can seek out and bid on other types of jobs.

Admin and Photoshop experts abound on Upwork. There are many here who offer Photoshop skills, and at very low rates - that can be hard to compete with.

You might want to peruse the job boards to see what's most available with some of your skill sets, and then decide.

yitwail
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
3 of 8

Alyx, for one thing, I imagine hiring managers are a tiny minority of Upwork's clientele. Regardless. in your case you might consider modifying your Profile Job Title so it includes Admin, like "Photographer / Photo Editor with Admin experience" perhaps.

Nia G Member Since: May 3, 2016
4 of 8

I'm in agreement with Virginia. It's difficult to have so many different things listed on your profile. Most folks I've seen trying to this on Upwork give off a "jack of all trades, master of none" type of impression. You wouldn't want that.