🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: My Client is greedy for few bucks and ask...
Page options
pankajjindia
Community Member

My Client is greedy for few bucks and asks for a minor refund even though I did all the work.

My Client is greedy for few bucks and asks for a minor refund even though I did all the work.

"However It doesn't go well with my ethics even if it is a small payment."

With all due respect, I am a freelancer, I had some problems with my client recently. So, the client was not responsive from over a month, and at the end, he asked me to refund the money.

I had worked hours and hours working on his project even though he was not responding. So, when he came back He told me that he need a refund for the project. 

Spoiler
I didn't send him any refund, as I was feeling cheated as the client didn't communicate with me properly and then suddenly he asks for refund. 

"Sometimes it is the fault of the Client as I experienced." 

Any solution for the situation?

9 REPLIES 9
prestonhunter
Community Member

Sometimes clients just want to be heard.

If it was me, I would probably ask the client why he is asking for a refund.

If the client just wants a small token refund, I would not hesitate to grant that refund, if it makes him feel better.

For example, the client paid me $100, but feels he should get $5 back because of some reason or another. I would quickly grant that request, and not think twice about the ethics of it. Because I would rather not waste time communicating about why he does or does not deserve a $5.00 refund.

What are the exact numbers you're dealing with here?

If it was $5 - $20 Refund, I won't hesitate for the payment.

I know even If I will give him  the refund, he is not going to provide me any positive feedback.

Why should I waste any amount of money with the person I do not trust?

Believe me, I have worked more than enough for the project price. 

I have never got a negetive feedback from any client till now ( 6 Years Upwork Career)