🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » My NEW client from india has changed the agre...
Page options
ctgfranco
Community Member

My NEW client from india has changed the agreed terms of service, this hurts me!

I'm seeking professional help here, some upwork support.

Hello, My name is César González Franco and I'm a designer, vfx, video editor and I love working on this platform. My problem is that I agree to create a video (very simple as discussed in messages) for $600 and now (4 days later) they have changed the terms, now is not a video, it's a full motiongraphics and they don't have a storyboard, they have been asking for a lot of changes.

A motiong graphics animation for the same leght (video time) cost almost the double $1200 and this situation it's killing me because I don't want to cancel the project and have a negative review or something.

And yes, I would like to cancel the project and I will lose 5 days of work because of this client.

Can someone PLEASE help me?

Thanks a lot. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "My NEW client has changed the agreed terms of service"

Um... What do you mean by that? It makes no sense.

A client can not "change the agreed terms of service" after a fixed-price contract has been agreed to.

That is not how fixed-price contracts work.

re: "...and now (4 days later) they have changed the terms, now is not a video, it's a full motiongraphics and they don't have a storyboard"

This is simply nonsense.

A client can not "change the terms".

re: "they have been asking for a lot of changes."

In a fixed-price contract, a client can not ask for a lot of changes. A client can not ask for ANY changes.

That is why they call it a "fixed-price" contract.

The client and freelancer agree to a FIXED price in order for the freelancer to do a FIXED task.

"Fixed" is the opposite of "change."

Which means there are only two possibilities:

a) You are making up a silly story just to prank us

[or]