t_munene

My challenges as a top quality English writer in a non-native English speaking country

Hello Guys!

I have been a freelancer for quite a while now formerly being based at Elance. I am a top English web content writer. Although I have managed to have a descent flow of work, I am finding it hard to clinch better clients.

The problem is that the better-paying long-term clients are not very confident of writers from non-native English speaking countries.

I understand the clients' concerns with quality submissions; but how can a quality writer such as I rise above this barrier when clients simply look at my country of origin and write me off?

Rgds,

Tim

9 REPLIES 9
mgmason1975

I would suggest having a thorough portfolio. If you have ready-made example files to provide, then certainly upload them to your profile and ensure you upload the best or most relevant when pitching for work. If they don't look that far, there is nothing that you can do, but it helps to show that your English is as good as that of a native.

Also, push it in your profile "Hi, I know I am not native English speaking, but please look at my samples and see how highly developed my English language communication is."

Hope that helps 🙂

If only clients would take time to look at the portfolios and samples... 😞

Hello,

I always strive to be authentic as I believe, as you mentioned, this is the best way to build a long-term career.

However, I am in a non-native English speaking country, Kenya (Africa), and my expertise is in web content writing.

As you can imagine, it is almost impossible to get a quality client since most clients immeadiately write-off any bids that are not from a native English speaking country.

Despite my top skills, I am still struggling to land suitable long-term clients.

I really don't know how to go around this problem since clients will often not bother to check out a freelancer's portfolio or samples to verify quality.

Hi Timothy,