🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: My client controlling me
Page options
isuru-nadun
Community Member

My client controlling me

Before he started job he did not give me a complete map of what he needed (that job was a level design in one game)

He tells me step by step what I need to do for two days, I can not think of the next step, I need to know the end when making a level. He chatted with me for two days in a row.

I am a developer.
Not a learner from him.

He keeps asking me for changes in the small parts he says from time to time, I do not want to make such small parts without knowing the end

I need the advice to manage this.

14 REPLIES 14
lysis10
Community Member

Your only options are to keep doing what he wants, refund and cancel the contract, or dispute. 

Will there be a problem with my account if I cancel this?

Nadun I wrote:

Will there be a problem with my account if I cancel this?

He will probably rate you poorly. That's the only issue I can think of.

ok thanks for the reply

Your work is pretty cool though.

what work do you mean?

re: "what work do you mean?"

He said that he thought your work is cool because he clicked on your name in the Forum, and then clicked through to your profile page and looked at your portfolio.

Hi Nadun,

I would not suggest to close the contract. I would ask you to write to client in a professional and polite way to outline the requirements in details so you may know the scope of work and do it efficiently. Do whatever it takes to satisfy the client and finish the job as successfully completed.
First clients are very difficult to satisfy because you don’t have proven track record of work at Upwork so client does not easily satisfied.
Leaving it in behind would have adverse impact at your profile, all of this hard work which you put in this client will be paid off in next projects with other clients. Don’t worry stay positive and give your best.
More work is coming after you finish this successfully.
Good luck
kinector