cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My client got fired today - job incomplete... what do I do?

ericsassaman
Eric S Member Since: Jun 5, 2017
1 of 10

So I got an IM today that my client got fired from his company. I'm in the middle of a $2k fixed price job. We've agreed on one small milestone for a prototype of the home page. Client was happy, released $70 milestone payment, done and done. However I'm now roughly 25% done with the full project, having put in quite a bit of work already, and he's been fired from the company. He said that the job is cancelled.

I'm new to Upwork so I'm not sure how to proceed or if there is any way to get paid for the work I've already done. I told them earlier that there is no need to set further milestones and I'd be happy with the final payment at the end. Yeah, live and learn, I'll never do that again - milestones are a GOOD IDEA (smacks forehead). That being said, is there any way to get a partial payment? This is a squishy situation because all I can do is make an estimate on the % of work done and I freely admit he job is far from being complete.

From what I have read on the fixed payment policy I simply don't get paid until the next milestone and/or entire job is complete, ok I get it. But is there any protection at all against the job being cancelled? Or are the milestone payments exactly for that reason - protection from cancelled projects? In which case... my bad, live and learn, sigh.

But is that correct that a client can cancel at any point and any unpaid work done toward the next milestone is just an instant loss? I'm thinking finer-grained milestones are better, in that case.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 10

You should not have set up a $2000 fixed-price milestone.

There is no advantage to you in doing so.

Why didn't you structure the project as an hourly contract or ten $200 contracts?

ericsassaman
3 of 10