🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » My client was happy, suddenly closed the cont...
Page options
ashcyp
Community Member

My client was happy, suddenly closed the contract and wants a refund.

Hi, I have a problem here and want some advice.

I am a pitch deck designer with quite good experience in the startup world. Pitched in front of billionaires, raised 3 times, and currently, I am mentoring young entrepreneurs and helping them with their dreams becoming the next unicorn startup. Why am I telling this, I might be new in Upwork but not new in this area.

So here is the problem. I proposed to a client he accepted it. He wanted me to design a pitch deck with animations. I did a very well pitch deck with placeholders since I was also helping him with the plan. So anyway, I sent him a video version of the pitch deck (recorded screen) and he said looks good. Twice. I asked if there are any problems if you don't like anything but he said, no it looks good. So basically he was happy as far as I understood. We continued working and since he was a %98 rated 10k+ client I thought sharing the pitch deck and working on the slides together would be a better way. Once I did share the pitch deck, he closed the contract and asked for a refund (1k escrow paid). We were on the 5-6th day of the transaction and had 8-9 more days till the contract end. So it means a lot of time left.

Of course, I refused the chargeback and filed a dispute. His excuses are mainly "He put wrong text in the team slide". Which every designer knows you first put some lorem ipsum data to see how it looks filled, and he also claims that I haven't spent much time in this it looks bad and wants to give me $250.