🐈 Community
cassidylea

My client went missing, and the work can't be completed.

Hello,

My client has set a milestone and funded it, and the deadline is last Saturday. But on last Friday, I found that the document she sent me was broken, I tried to contact her to tell her about it but she has never replied until now.  However, I've nearly completed the work except for the broken part, so I sent my work to her on last Saturday, but I didn't submit it to the milestone.

What am I supposed to do now? I'm a newbie on Upwork that just got JSS this week. I don't care the fund, but I really don't want my JSS to drop down.

Thank you anyway.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
reinierb

@Yaxin L wrote:

Hello,

My client has set a milestone and funded it, and the deadline is last Saturday. But on last Friday, I found that the document she sent me was broken, I tried to contact her to tell her about it but she has never replied until now.  However, I've nearly completed the work except for the broken part, so I sent my work to her on last Saturday, but I didn't submit it to the milestone.

What am I supposed to do now? I'm a newbie on Upwork that just got JSS this week. I don't care the fund, but I really don't want my JSS to drop down.

Thank you anyway.

Was the deadline a material condition of the contract, i.e., was your payment dependent on the job being done and delivered by the deadline? 

If not, don't worry about it too much, since deadlines are not cast in stone, unless it is made a material condition of the contract. Clients can go silent for any number of legitimate reasons, so just wait a couple days before you try to contact her again, but do not refund her at this point. 

Think about it this way- if the job were really time sensitive, she would have contacted you already wanting to know why you are late in delivering. 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
reinierb

@Yaxin L wrote:

Hello,

Thank you anyway.