cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: My experience / observations of Upwork thus far and thoughts going forwards.

Highlighted
Tom N Member Since: Jul 14, 2018
1 of 27

Hello Freelancers,

This is going to be a lengthy post, so apologies in advance.

I am this week going to achieve my 9th week of top rated eligibility, from around 10 or 11 weeks of being a freelancer on the platform. As with any new freelancer it has been a turbulant time with some ups and downs. However I have made some observations about my own area of freelancing and my performance overall which are really starting to turn me away from the platform and think what's the point.

First off, image retouching. Although I have a first class degree in Graphic Design, up to this point my ability as a photographer and image retouching artist has outshone my design work and experience by chance. So this is the avenue I decided to pursue with the most
effort. Unfortunately this area of freelancing seems to be a difficult area to break into, I have sent off 213 proposals in the last 90 days to a variety of retouching jobs I knew I could produce excellent results for, well with in the time frame outlined. However I would say at least 50% of these jobs have never had any hires or interviews, a further large chunk have been people interviewing 8-10 freelancers and requesting "freetrials" in order to complete the work without hiring anyone, and then another good chunk hiring freelancers who are charging ~$5 per hour. There is the small amount of jobs where people are hired and seemingly complete legitimate jobs, however in most cases I have observed it seems to be a rehire of a freelancer they have previously dealt with and subsequently invited to propose.