Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My first client is threatening me

0b8e3f44
Jean-Christophe M Member Since: Jun 16, 2016
1 of 18

Hi, 

tl;dr; client is crazy, threatening me, upwork support is of no help, what to do?

So I started my first job, I'm a experienced developer, building startups and working as a freelancer to get some money. It was hard to find a first job, as I can't work for really low rate, it's just not worth it. So I accepted a small job for a project (which was first fixed @5$...). I proposed him a first analysys task of 80$ to check weather the project was doable or not, as he has no idea of what he has, and he had troubles to explain it in english. 

It was a good move as the project was completely outdated (symfony based, but stuck to version2.3) on a old provider (php 5.3) and a complete badly coded administration partly functionning. We could tell from the code several low skilled developpers worked on it, and no one did anything since 2-3 years on it. 

Without moving to more stable version it was nearly impossible to get anything done, so the second task was to upgrade to symfony latest, update his administration to sonata admin, and try working on his original tasks, even tho it wasn't really clear.

The client was highly demanding, sending mail every 6 hours everyday, and in the end, turn up crazy when I told him I couldn't deploy the new version on his stupid provider (symfony need php 5.6 at least, the php version was stuck to 5.3 something...). i then decided to deploy it on another server with proper application versions, and it works greatly, but somehow he wanted is old version back and started asking for many new things, that was easy based on his understanding. I was a bit tired of this, so I just told him I would give him a zip and he would take care of the deployment as this part was not part of my proposal at first.