🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » My first job on Upwork - reflecting on feedba...
Page options
deborah-ponzio
Community Member

My first job on Upwork - reflecting on feedback

Hello, I am new to this system and on the learning curve. I have plenty of experience and positive client feedback under my belt out of here and approached my first job opportunity here with enthusiasm.

I have a dilemma about feedback now. 

As a start, I accepted a small fixed price job that the client believed would be sorted out in one hour. I knew that it might not be the case since the start, but I accepted the deal anyway as reviews on the client are mostly excellent (except a couple) and I didn't mind spending more time to complete it without being paid more hours.

The challenge was: obtaining detailed and personalised information from a complex local organisation heavily impacted by COVID19. I cannot be more specific for the sake of confidentiality. The hiring process was quick and smooth and the client seemed a nice person via messages (we never interacted directly out of Upwork even after the contract signing so I just rely on messages for my impression). 

I put myself to work and updated the client regularly. I produced two reports on findings, including all the information that I collected via several phone calls, hanging on the phone for hours and being treated like a ping ping ball from one number to the other by people busy and in a hurry and reluctant to listen and accommodate my request. .They are prioritising COVID19 right now, but such organisation would be a challenge even during normal times. 

I eventually secured the email of a key contact who has been given to me as the only one who could answer the questions posed and can only be contacted via email, obviously in his local language as a start. It was clarified to me that nobody would answer such questions by telephone as they involved too much responsibility and detailed knowledge.