🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » My profile wording has been hijacked for clie...
Page options
bundie702
Community Member

My profile wording has been hijacked for clients' job descriptions

I just flagged THREE jobs in the field of fiction editing that directly lifted text from my profile (I'm a top-rated freelancer who commands higher fees) for their job descriptions, for which they are offering $30 to $50 (for a job that takes four to five hours if done correctly). It's gotten so bad that I have had to create a macro for my complaint, only cutting and pasting the actual text from the respective listings.

This situation is out of control. I have repeatedly asked Upwork to remove these listings and inform the clients that they are to use their own words, not plagiarize mine. I feel as if the value of my work is being cheapened by these low-paying jobs (to which people are applying). I believe they have been removing the listings (this has been going on for several months), but the clients are simply re-listing the jobs.  

Listing #1, from the UK: "You should be able to identify, grammar, punctuation, spelling, capitalization, consistency, and sentence structure, and also spotting issues with the plot, setting. Overused/misused/missing words, overused phrases, incorrect facts, redundancies, contradictions, implausibilities, confusing narrative, pronoun misuse, adverb overuse, transitions, tense, clarity, syntax, pacing, and line editing.
I am looking to pay $50 per 10k words."

Listing #2, also from the UK: "I expect copy editing and line editing including grammar, punctuation, spelling, capitalization, consistency, and sentence structure, spotting issues with the plot, setting, overused/misused/missing words, overused phrases, incorrect facts, redundancies, contradictions, implausibility, confusing narrative, pronoun misuse, adverb misuse/overuse, point-of-view errors, transitions, tense, clarity, syntax and pacing etc. I am looking to pay $50 per 10K words edited."