cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My proposal for a job post was declined but then I was contacted outside of upwork

roberta_griffin

Hello all, my name is Roberta Griffin. I am new to Upwork.  Having nearly completed my profile I sent a proposal to a Job Post that was declined by the potential employer. But, the employer sent me a message to contact him/her via Skype.  I did and now he/she wants to hire me.  This just sounds too fishy.  I asked to return to Upwork to settle contract/agreement info but that was ignored.  An obscure contract was sent to me but I'm really not comfortable with this.  I feel maybe this hiring employer is acting unethically or perhaps is a scam of some sort.

Have any of you experienced anything close to this?  I want to trust this site but this situation makes me feel uneasy.

Any input would be great.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tlsanders
Community Guru

It happens all the time. In most cases, it's  scam and you not only won't get paid, but may get swindled out of money.

In a best case scenario, it will be a real job and you'll just get banned from Upwork for taking work outside of the platform. 

Report it and move on.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
tlsanders
Community Guru

It happens all the time. In most cases, it's  scam and you not only won't get paid, but may get swindled out of money.

In a best case scenario, it will be a real job and you'll just get banned from Upwork for taking work outside of the platform. 

Report it and move on.

View solution in original post

csjarmitage
Community Guru

It's really important that you read everything on the site regarding rules, best practices and ToS requirements.

Don't begin work without a contract showing in your "My Jobs" tab.  Don't accept payment off the platform. Finally, I wouldn't have a conversation with anyone outside of the messaging center until you've got some Upwork experience under your belt.