🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Need a "pulse check" on my progress
Page options
syeddes
Community Member

Need a "pulse check" on my progress

So I've been on UpWork maybe for 1 week or so.  I'm a developer and I have 10+ years professional experience.  I'm trying to get starting with something small first since I'm not all to familure with this platform.  Once comfortable I want to chase after bigger jobs.  I don't have the Upwork + (paid one).  However, I heard it's worth it consideirng you can see bid price.  Here are my questions.

1.  Is there anything "wrong" with my profile, I've been comparing my profile with other people and it seems I should be Okay.?

2.  I've submitted to 6 proposals so far starting from 3 days ago to one just 19 minutes ago.  How many proposals should I have out at the same time.  My concern is there's a risk I could one day win multiple then have to "perform" within the timeframe several projects at a time. 

3.  I was told that I should only wait about a day once I submit and if the client dosen't get back to me I should simply reject it.  Is this true? If so do I simply withdraw my proposal?

4.  How do you deal with "budgeted price"  so far I've been submitting proposals "up to" the budget price (not above).  I'm assuming people are submitting proposals way below the budgeted price?  So I see for example a simple job to convert a file for $75.00.  I've submitted exacly $75.00.  Is this asking for to much?

5.  Within the Cover letter I usually explain how I'm going to tackle the project and I explain the steps I'm going to take.  Maybe a paragraph or so.  Is this okay?  Sometimes I introduce a little bit about myself within the cover letter.  

6.  In terms of Samples, I provide none, and I haven't provided any so far.  I read somewhre that many people don't even look at them.

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
yitwail
Community Member