🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: New Contact and Contract - Same Company
Page options
wsoza141
Community Member

New Contact and Contract - Same Company

So... I've been working for a company through Upwork for almost two years now.  Unfortunately, the person that used to control the contracts and the Upwork account left the company, and a new contract was issued.  I've worked for the company since 2018 and was already at only a 5% fee since I had gone well over the $10,000 goal.  With the new contract, Upwork began charging me 20% and now 10% all over.  Is this normal?  I've had 3 contracts with this company totaling $17152.50.  Why is upwork charging me 20% and 10% again?  Also, is there no more chat support available?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

The same thing happened to me; I started working for a different person but doing the same kind of work for the same company that I'd worked with for over a year, and the 20% service charge was applied. I contacted Upwork about it and they said that because it was a "new account", there would be no discount. It definitely isn't fair.

The good news is that because you're nearly at the two year mark, you'll soon be allowed to take them off of Upwork and pay no service charges.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

The same thing happened to me; I started working for a different person but doing the same kind of work for the same company that I'd worked with for over a year, and the 20% service charge was applied. I contacted Upwork about it and they said that because it was a "new account", there would be no discount. It definitely isn't fair.

The good news is that because you're nearly at the two year mark, you'll soon be allowed to take them off of Upwork and pay no service charges.

I wasn't aware of that two-year stipulation.  Do you know where I can read more about it?

Wesley S wrote: