🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: New Freelance writer needs advice about p...
Page options
jagift
Community Member

New Freelance writer needs advice about private vs public profile.

I am new to freelance writing.  I am a great writer, but I don't have an extensive portfolio available, and I need to learn more about such things as Search Engine Optimization.  If I have my profile public now and I don't get any jobs for a while, will that hurt me going forward when I do have my stuff more together?  Should I wait to have a public profile until I feel more competitive?

I would appreciate any ideas or knowledge you might have.

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "If I have my profile public now and I don't get any jobs for a while, will that hurt me going forward when I do have my stuff more together?"

No.

re: "Should I wait to have a public profile until I feel more competitive?"

No.

timefighter11
Community Member

Jack G wrote:

I am new to freelance writing.  I am a great writer, but I don't have an extensive portfolio available, and I need to learn more about such things as Search Engine Optimization.  If I have my profile public now and I don't get any jobs for a while, will that hurt me going forward when I do have my stuff more together?  Should I wait to have a public profile until I feel more competitive?

I would appreciate any ideas or knowledge you might have.

Hello Jack, 

You are a great writer then write a great content for your portfolios and start bidding on relevant jobs. Upwork provides equal opportunity to new freelancers as well. I have built my profile from scratch and now have 100% JSS and good rating after working for just 2 months. 

If you are not earning for one month then Upwork makes your profile private. Keep this in your knowledge. Just be motivated, you will land on perfect jobs to do soon. 

Kind Regards,
Zeeshan

varungs
Community Member