cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Freelancer on Upwork - hello and some questions

Bjorn B Member Since: Jan 30, 2019
1 of 11

Hello all,

My name is Bjørn, You can call me Bjorn. I am a Dane living in Montreal.

I'm currently employed as a freelance translator with Keywords Studios, who I have been working for since 2012. 

As I want to start saving some more money (plus I really love translating / localizing) I began collaborating with another company as a freelance translator end of last year, and yesterday I went ahead and signed up for Upwork.

Today I had my first job, a bit outside of what I usually do (diploma translation), but I think it went alright, I submitted it on time, and I am currently waiting for approval (just discovered that it can take up to two weeks).

A random question: Does it matter that nothing got put in the terms and settings? I am finding out these things as I go. Honestly, I had started working on the job before I even accepted the project. Luckily it was a fixed-price project, and he had great reviews, so I think I’ve made it this far without any serious blunders.

My actual question pertains to that magic subject of: Hourly Rate!

My current wager with one company is 0.85 EUR and 0.10 EUR with the other... so 0.98 USD and 0.11 USD. 

Working with them I've just had deadlines and word counts, so I've never really paid any attention to how many words I was translating an hour. But I found out on Google that an industry standard is 443 words. As an average that seems about right, depending on the complexity of the text of course. 

So if I were to set my rate at 0.1/word and 443 words/hr that means my rate should be 44.3 USD/hr.

First part of the question: Is 45 USD an okay hourly rate. I know it is not the cheapest (but what I do, I do well), but I seem to find a lot that is down around half that, or even lower. What gives?