🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » New Freelancer
Page options
magrogue
Community Member

New Freelancer

I am a new freelancer and I simply would like to discuss some things.
1)I've completed my profile up to 100%, added portfolio items and even a video, and I'm looking to get the opinions of some freelancers in the Presentation Design and Transcription fields on it.
2)What happens after I run out of Connects? I do not have any membership plan, so do I get 20 Connects at the beginning of each month, or would I have to purchase them?
3)I've already got my first job (being interviewed, but it all looks good); however it is really difficult to get jobs and I'd like some freelancers to share their experiences with me when they first started. I see some people with worse portfolios who have 100% job success rates. My proposals are all personal and well-written, but it always feels like clients would rather hire someone with a high job success rate. I suggest Upwork adds a system where new freelancers are reviewed based on their portfolio and skills - possibly by successful freelancers, and given a special badge if their profiles are high-quality, to help them begin.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Osama A wrote:

I am improving my portfolio to further reflect my skills, thanks. Do you think that creating more templates with placeholder text/images like that in the video would be good? I can't say I haven't been using PowerPoint from a really young age, but I do understand that it does sound a bit much to mention that I have 10 years of experience.

Yes, thanks a lot for that, it does provide a weak image.