cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New freelancer and not getting job

Highlighted
Saddam H Member Since: Jan 6, 2015
1 of 5

Hi, I am a new freelancer, but I have worked for a software company for 3years and I have experienced of PHP for 4years, still I am not getting any job in odesk. Can anyone help me? please.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 5
Your profile is set to private, so nobody here can look at it. We don't know what kind of jobs you're applying for and we have not read your cover letters, so there is not much we can do to offer advice.

Don't post your cover letters. Don't post links to target jobs. Do change you profile status to public.

Otherwise, all I can suggest is work on improving your profile and portfolio and keep trying.
Highlighted
Michael T Member Since: Jan 7, 2015
3 of 5

Participate in public forums and point people to those forums, to show you're an expert.  Bump your StackExchange score by answering hard and easy questions.  Post some open-source code to github you've written or forked.

Make sure your cover letters are custom-written to the requirements.  Most cover letters simply say something stupid like "I read your requirements and I am perfect for this job", which has been cut and pasted from every cover letter that person has ever written.

Review your English before posting anything.  Things like "I have experienced of PHP for 4years" may not reflect anything about your PHP skills, but they reflect a lack of attention to detail.  Instead, say something like "I have 4 years of PHP experience" or something like that.  It's very easy to dismiss someone with grammatical mistakes or typos in their cover letter.

And the most obvious one, no one will hire you if your profile is private.  

Tac 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Ronald T Member Since: Sep 14, 2009
4 of 5

Kudos to MT for the helpful, meaningful advice given to SH.