🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » New on Upwork - Unclear Communication for an ...
Page options
jaclynstw
Community Member

New on Upwork - Unclear Communication for an urgent project - Requested revisions forever many times

Hi there!

Hope you guys are doing well. 🙂

I've just started to work on Upwork and it's been amazing. However, I'm currently facing an issue that one of my clients came back to me and asked for another revision for the project.

She mentioned that it was an urgent project and I didn't do my part to state the details like extra charges for revision, etc. That's on me. Hence, I helped her to render different versions of the video even if it was late night for me in my region. The project ended on 15 November and here's the message I received from her:

**edited for Community Guidelines**

As mentioned, I'm very new to this platform and I would hope that I can get as many positive review as I can. If I were to refuse to make the revision, I might be getting a bad review from her and it might affect me losing some potential clients when they read the review given by her.

May I ask for some advice on how to deal with this client? Appreciate helps from y'all! 🙂

Thanks and have a GREAT day!

11 REPLIES 11
prestonhunter
Community Member

Well, here's the thing you need to understand:

Upwork is not the communication police.

There ARE clients who have excellent communication skills.

And there are clients who have very poor communication skills.

Getting a client to communicate more effectively is not something that you can appeal to Upwork to help you with.

You need to develop strategies to deal with this sort of thing.

Talk to us here in the Forum if you need help.

Here are some things I do as a freelancer. These are not necessarily the same techniques that other freelancers use:

- When a client hires me with a fixed-price contract, I have ALL of the information necessary to complete the task. NO COMMUNICATION is necessary.