cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New on oDesk, problem with hiring

Highlighted
David V Member Since: Jun 26, 2014
1 of 11
Hi everybody! I'm an Italian freelancer, and I'm pretty new here on oDesk. As I can see in this forum, I have a classic problem: I'm not able to be hired, I can't even get an interview. I followed all the advices provided by oDesk: I completed my profile (personal "smiling" picture, portfolio, education and working experiences, tests concerning my fields, etc.), I took a lot of tests (all scoring from "First place" and "Top 30%"), I check out for jobs everyday (I have far more than 20 active applications), I write original cover letters in perfect English every time I apply for a job (and always offering free tests to check my skills, asking questions about the project, focusing on previous experiences, etc.). My rate is pretty fair according to me, my profile is concise and straight to the point... what am I missing? What should I do? I'm begging you to help me, all this wasted time is driving me crazy. Thank you anyway and have a nice day.
Highlighted
Ljiljana Z Member Since: Jun 15, 2014
2 of 11
Hi,I have problem ..I don't know where and how I put my work hours on oDesk
Highlighted
3 of 11
It should be from your profile page, just beneath your profile picture.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Marcia M Member Since: Apr 3, 2013
4 of 11
You scored a 4.90 in English to Italian translation skills, but it is showing up as Below Average. Very strange.
Highlighted
5 of 11
That sounded strange to me too. Consider that my Excel test scored 2.60 and was tagged as "Above average". Maybe oDesk inverted the two tags...?
Highlighted
Community Guru
Marcia M Member Since: Apr 3, 2013
6 of 11
Either there is a bug or the average score was close to a perfect score meaning that either the test was ridiculously easy or almost everyone cheated. You can contact support and find out and hide the score in the meantime.
Highlighted