🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » New to Freelancing and Issues with a potentia...
Page options
cszeman
Community Member

New to Freelancing and Issues with a potential employer from another site.

Hello,

I am new to Freelancing and this situation happened to me on another site. I am just wondering what to do if it happens here.

I answered an ad for a PR copywriting gig. This person then emailed me a few days later. I had a bad feeling about this.

This person then wanted me to write a show for them (I did write ads in my last job, and I know how to write scripts), then they talked about me signing an NDA (Non-Disclosure Agreement) form, but they never sent me any. I thought that I was supposed to send the form, which I did. But they said that they will have me sign it. They never sent me the form to sign online.

Then they asked if I can do some Social Media gigs for them. I said that I can. Then I thought that they were going to connect with me, so I sent them my Social Media info (To two of them). Then I a get a message from them saying that swore and said a racial slur in my past emails. I told them that I never done that, they must of mistaken some of my friend's posts (That I shared or commented on) on Facebook. I had to go and delete some of those, and I learned my lesson never to mention that to an employer.

Then, they asked if I can do a PSA for them. I wrote back saying I can, but I need to get paid and to sign that NDA form that they never sent. They were still talking about signing the NDA form without sending me one in the attachment. So I had to politely say that I don't want to work for them.

I also did talk to that other site about this person to report them.

What do I do if this situatio happens here on Upwork?

3 REPLIES 3
jr-translation
Community Member

Christina S wrote:

Hello,

I am new to Freelancing and this situation happened to me on another site. I am just wondering what to do if it happens here.