🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: New to Upwork Question - How long does it...
Page options
kalmoulani
Community Member

New to Upwork Question - How long does it take to get momentum?

Hello all, 

I am a new freelancer in Upwork and very excited about this experience. 

After one week of submiting over 100 proposals, I managed to get a project after undervaluing myself. Right now, I am back to submiting even more proposals to get exposure. I am technically in the negative financially (bought connects) I know its a long term investment.

Enough about me, I am really curious how did your journey go on Upwork? And is there a point where us as freelancers can get momentum (like stream of invites)? Or is the experience here is all about selling ourselves to potential employers and hope we get hired? I would like to know how the timeline of a typical freelancer journey works.

Thank you in advance 🙂 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I think it depends on the category/niche that you are in. I'm in a low-populated niche (cybersecurity, data protection) compared to the data entry/design, etc., highly populated categories. You know, if there is 50+ top-rated, 100% JSS freelancer in your niche, it is hard to get noticed, but I think if you apply for a job and your profile has 3-5 review, you will be considered for sure if I would be a client that would be the minimum. Because that means you have proven yourself with other clients for sure.

Personally, I don't count on invites as a steady flow of work (again in my niche), as the quality ones are rare.

What I can recommend for you: 

1. Try to get done 5 jobs with excellent delivery to get feedback; after 5 jobs are done, your JSS should be generated. This means that you can't be too picky in the beginning.
  2. Aim for rising talent/top-rated categories (Rising Talent, Top Rated