🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » New to Upwork - Typist - Faced Scam
Page options
01e38686
Community Member

New to Upwork - Typist - Faced Scam

Hi everyone! I am new in Upwork and the freelance world. I started from the typist since it doesn't require experience, however, I am afraid I have faced twice a scam.

Follow the telegram link to get the job. I messaged the person and he shared the company details **Edited for Community Guidelines**. I searched on google and found the company, which seemed trustworthy. I ask the person's LinkedIn profile to verify it however he didn't share but asked me my CV which I also didn't share and deleted the conversation.

Second, also typist required from  PDF to Word offered a fixed price of 500$.

I applied and got a message on Upwork again directing me to the Telegram. I replied her mentioning that having conversations outside of Upwork is against the policy, but I didn't get a response. 

I wanted to be sure. So I followed the link and was asked about my age, sex, and country. I asked why the contract can't be done via Upwork to which he mentioned that they receive over Upwork too many messages. When I asked why my age, sex, and country matter he mentioned that this requires work. 

I am not sure what kind of scam this is and how many people have been victims of this kind of situation. 

I have deleted both chats from the telegram immediately and reported the message at  Upwork. 

Isn't it suspicious? Anyone has experienced this kind of situation. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
sofia2008
Community Member

Many did. Solution: do not communicate outside of Upwork before being formally hired. You are violating the Terms of Services you agreed to by signing up on Upwork.

Yes, there are a lot of scams. There are equally lots of freelancers falling for it by applying to jobs before being ready to work on the platform.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
sofia2008
Community Member