🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » New to Upwork and facing challenge of landing...
Page options
omar_rawi
Community Member

New to Upwork and facing challenge of landing my first job. Advice/help is greatly appreciated!

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Upwork. Created my profile some months ago, and have since applied to and submitted around 50 proposals. I've gotten a couple of bites but no interviews and have not landed any jobs yet. I feel that my area of expertise is a bit broad, and unfortunately don't have any portfolio work examples to post as I used to work in consulting, and all examples of previous work are proprietary. I'm trying to get my foot through the door, and hoping that by landing the first couple of jobs, this will build momentum and will make it easier to land more. I would greatly appreciate if someone could take a look at my profile and let me know if they have any feedback or advice on how I can write better proposals. One other thing to note is that I've submitted a number of proposals at a higher hourly rate $150/hr, then brought it down to $100/hr and now brought it down to $50 / hr to experiment. Again, I greatly appreciate your feedback and help.

Thanks,

Omar

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

To be honest, the second I see a profile with a wall of text in the third person, my eyes roll to the back of my head and I move on. Unless you're Queen Elizabeth the Second or Julius Caesar, don't talk about yourself in the 3rd person. That went out of fashion in the 90s.

Your overview is hard to read, sounds remote, unapproachable and impersonal, and does not highlight your unique selling points.

I don't think your price-point is necessarily the issue, your approach is.

Also, in a list of proposals or search results, clients only see the first line or two. You waste that prime real estate telling clients what they already know (your name and where you're from and what you do, all of which is already on your profile.)