cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: New to Upwork and wondering about legitimate clients

jjalbo314
Julie B Member Since: Jun 27, 2016
1 of 8

I'm new to Upwork and am wondering about the process and potential clients.  I submitted a couple proposals - one for Accounts Receivable and the other for Accounts Payable.  In both cases the clients asked me to purchase supplies for to print "payroll checks" for which they would reimburse me for.  I was offered the job but the one wants to pay me thru Money Gram - I thought I had to log my time and Upwork would invoice the client - and pay me - that would be the purpose of filing the W-9.  The other sent me a "link" to "register" . . .  this feels wrong to me - can anyone give me insight?

karandrakis
Ace Contributor
Keri K Member Since: Jun 1, 2016
2 of 8

Both of those sound suspicious to me. First of all, it's against Upwork's Terms of Service to pay a freelancer outside of the platform, so either the client is brand new and has not read the ToS or is blatantly disrespecting them. Second, I would be wary of them directing you to register for any site before proceeding with the job--maybe I'm just a cynic, but this sounds like a way to steal your information. 

ttamymmat
Tammy M Member Since: Jun 27, 2016
3 of 8

I am wondering the same thing about legitimate clients.  The first interview I did seemed to be a scam and I wasn't sure how to handle the situation.  Now, a new client sent an interview request but I couldn't find where I had posted a proposal.  I cannot find anything about the client on Upwork but I could on Facebook.  Any suggestions on how to find out if a job is a legitimate one?

kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Valeria K Community Manager Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
4 of 8

Hi Julie and Tammy,