cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Upwork.... help needed please

Shannon M Member Since: Dec 4, 2015
1 of 11

Hi folks, 

I am new to Upwork and have just accepted my first job offer. In the offer it says "Maual Time Allowed: Yes" does this mean I can just tell the client how many hours I have spent on the job, or do I still have to install the Time App? Is the time app the same as the work log? Also, is Paypal how we recieve payment? 

Any help is GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks Smiley Happy 

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 11

If manual time is allowed, yes, it means you can click on the work diary section for this particular job and you can manually enter in the time you worked.

Yes, it means that you do not need to install the time-tracking software.

It would be a tactical error to work this way.

You SHOULD NOT ENTER TIME MANUALLY unless you have a very good reason for doing so.

Manually entered time does NOT have payment guarantees like normally logged time does.

So for new Upwork contractor Shannon, the short answer is:

No, do not use the manual time logging feature.

UNLESS you come here and explain why you want to use it and we agree that you have a valid reason,

Logging time manually is not something to do as a personal preference. It can lead to you losing a lot of money if a client disputes the time logged that way or does not want to pay you for any reason.

Community Guru
Setu M Member Since: Jan 26, 2014
3 of 11

And Paypal is forbidden edit - off platform.

You should consider reading some of the site documentation to avoid a world of woes.

---- easy like Sunday morning ----
4 of 11

Thank you for your response. I do see that in Canada there is a recommended payment method. I guess I was just weary about giving my banking details online. 

Community Guru
Setu M Member Since: Jan 26, 2014
5 of 11